top of page

The criteria for the Global Citizens Laureate.

UNA-Canada is proud to honour and pay special tribute to unique and ambitious models of leadership. We recognize our Laureates for their positive vision for a better world, starting in Canadian communities, and for their outstanding and generous commitment to children and youth, education, health and wellness and social growth and stability not only for individuals, but for whole communities. The recipient is recognized for their outstanding global citizenship in their community, for Canada and for the world by exemplifying how social responsibility and sterling leadership can be enormously successful in fostering inclusive societies and prosperity.

The Honourable Bill Graham, P.C., C.M., Q.C. Toronto (May 11 2017)

M. Louis Vachon, Montreal (24 November 2016)

Murad Al-Katib, Toronto (April 2016)

Terry Hui, Vancouver (Nov 2015)

The Hon. David Peterson, Toronto (April 2015)

Nadir Mohamed, Toronto (October 30, 2013

Yves Fortier, Montreal (May 9, 2012

Leslie Dan, Toronto (November 23, 2011)

Avrim Lazar, Vancouver (May 11, 2011)

Stephen Jarislowsky, C.C. Toronto (June 24, 2010)

The Hon. E. Peter Lougheed, C.C., P.C., Q.C. Calgary (May 26, 2010)

G. Wallace F. McCain, O.C. Toronto (October 16, 2008)

Dr. Hans Blix, Toronto (October 23, 2007)

Arthur Erickson, Vancouver (September 10, 2006)

Geoffrey A. H. Pearson, Ottawa (October 5, 2005)

Richard (Dick) Pound, Vancouver (September 21, 2005)

The Hon. Mitchell Sharp, Ottawa (26 November 2005)

Lieutenant-General (Ret) Roméo Dallaire, Montreal (27 February 2003)

The Right Hon. Brian Mulroney, Toronto (30 October 2003)

Louise Fréchette, Montreal (7 December 2000)

Kofi Annan, Montreal (7 December 1999)

Ted Turner, Toronto (21 June 1999)

Mary Robinson, Ottawa (25 November 1998)

Dr. Federico Mayor, Montreal (17 November 1998)

Kofi Annan, Toronto (3 December 1997)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page