top of page

2022 Peace Medal Laureate Prof John McGarry

October 3, 2022: The United Nations Association in Canada (UNA-Canada) is pleased to announce that the Jury for UNA-Canada’s Pearson Peace Medal has selected Prof. John McGarry, OC, FRSC as our 2022 recipient.

Prof McGarry has dedicated his career to establishing the research base from which the foundations of peace can be built. Beyond

research, his work in Cyprus in particular demonstrated the power of consociationalism, a power sharing agreement that brings together different ethnic and linguistic groups that recognizes the importance of empowering minorities and protects their right to participate through political and judicial measures. His role as Professor of Political Studies and Canada Research Chair in Nationalism and Democracy at Queen’s University in Kingston, reflects a career as a practical leader in the study and practice of national and ethnic conflict resolution.

His scholarship over a distinguished career has revolutionized the academic study of these important topics, while the direct application of his work to conflicts worldwide (most notably in Northern Ireland and Cyprus, but also Iraq, Kenya, etc.) has helped create new possibilities for peace and democracy around the globe. As a nationally and internationally recognized authority in his field, governments and international organizations (including the UN) seek his counsel. His world class research, and its direct application to conflicts, has enhanced Canada’s intellectual heritage, as it exemplifies Canada’s proud tradition of responsible engagement in international affairs and Lester B Pearson’s legacy of peaceful mediation.

Prof McGarry truly demonstrates an understanding and commitment to Lester B. Pearson’s query, “How can there be peace without people understanding each other; and how can this be if they don’t know each other?’”

Upon learning of the honour, Prof McGarry remarked, “I’m exceptionally pleased to have won the Pearson Peace Medal. That’s because peace is a fundamental good, which we all need more of, particularly at this time. It’s also because the others who have won this prize - like Romeo Dallaire, Louise Arbour and Beverley McLachlin - are truly exceptional Canadians. I’m so proud to be mentioned in the same breath”.

My deepest thanks to our jury members, Landon Pearson, Kyle Matthews, Desiree McGraw and Kate White. The award ceremony will take place in Ottawa at a future date.

Jaime Webbe

President and CEO

United Nations Association in Canada


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page